Wedding Dress (Korean)

wedding-dress-poster

“Made me realize how important each day with my Mom is.”

For me, I guess nothing’s more painful than knowing that our parents can’t live forever. There will be times when we feel like we just want to see them everyday, and be with them as we grow up, but we can’t. One day, we’ll need to set them free. We’ll need to accept the fact that they are older than us, and that they will disappear before us. It’s sad, but it’s true. No matter how much we love our parents, just like lovers, we’ll have to set them free and let them go.

Wedding Dress is a dramatic film about a single Mom, who’s been struggling with gastric cancer. She lost her husband when their kid was still young, and she raised her child alone. She knew she won’t be able to be with her until she grows up, that’s why as soon as she knew how terminal her ill is already, she chose to spend more time with her daughter and quit her job. She didn’t know that her daughter knows about her condition until her last days. They spent days together, and enjoyed every remaining time that the mother has. As the daughter knew about her mother’s illness, she started granting her wishes.

This movie is heartbreaking, not just because I’m a mommy’s girl, but because this movie made me realize how important my Mom is. I always think about myself, and sometimes I forget that my Mom is growing old, and that she can’t stay with me forever. Whenever I’m with her, I feel like she will always be there for me. And after seeing this movie, I realized that we can’t really predict nor control what’s going to happen to someone’s life, and that we should just treasure every moment we have with that person. Love your mom, and even your dad, for they are growing old just like us. We can’t be with them forever, so let’s treasure every hour that we have with them.

For this one, I’m going to give a 8/10 rating.

Leave a Reply

